BYLAW 910-R-02-25 TOWN OF COALDALE PROVINCE OF ALBERTA

BEING A BYLAW OF THE TOWN OF COALDALE TO ESTABLISH A POLICING COMMITTEE

WHEREAS the *Municipal Government Act* RSA 2000, c.M-26 and regulations as amended, provide that Council may pass bylaws in relation to services provided by or on behalf of the municipality;

WHEREAS the *Police Act* RSA 2000, c-P-17 and regulations as amended, provide that a municipality which has entered into an Agreement with the Federal Government for the provision of police services through the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, may by Bylaw establish a Policing Committee;

WHEREAS the Council of the Town of Coaldale, in the Province of Alberta, deems it expedient to pass such a Police Committee;

WHEREAS the Council, by the Bylaw shall prescribe the rules and regulations governing proceedings and meetings of the Committee;

NOW THEREFORE, the Council of the Town of Coaldale duly assembled hereby enacts as follows:

1.0 TITLE

This Bylaw may be cited as the "Policing Committee Bylaw"

2.0 DEFINITIONS

In this Bylaw, unless the context otherwise requires:

- 2.1 "Act" means the Police Act, RSA 2000, c P-17 and regulations thereto;
- 2.2 "Agreement" means the agreement between the municipality and the Government of Canada for the provision of police services for the municipality;
- 2.3 "Bylaw" means the Police Committee Bylaw 910-R-02-25 as amended from time to time:
- 2.4 "Chair" means the individual elected as per the Police Act Section 23 (9):
- 2.5 "Chief Administrative Officer" means the Chief Administrative Officer, (CAO) of the town of Coaldale or his delegate within the meaning of the Municipal Government Act:
- 2.6 "Chief Elected Official" mean the Mayor of the Town of Coaldale;

- 2.7 "Town" means the municipal corporation of Coaldale;
- 2.8 "Committee" means the Policing Committee;
- 2.9 "Council means the Municipal Council of the Town of Coaldale;
- 2.10 "Councilor" means an elected member of Council;
- 2.11 "Member" means a person appointed to the Policing Committee pursuant to the Policing Committee Bylaw;
- 2.12 "Minister" means the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Services of the Province of Alberta:
- 2.13 "Officer in Charge" means the Officer in charge of the local RCMP detachment in Coaldale;
- 2.14 "R.C.M.P." means the Royal Canadian Mounted Police or any member of that police service as the case may require.

3.0 DUTIES and RESPONSIBILITIES

The Policing Committee shall have the following duties:

- 3.1 representing the interests and concerns of the public and Council to the Officer in Charge;
- 3.2 developing a yearly plan of priorities and strategies for policing in consultation with the Officer in Charge;
- 3.3 assisting in selection of the Officer in Charge;
- 3.4 support the R.C.M.P. in integrated community safety planning;
- 3.5 report annually or on request, to the Minister on the implementation of and updates to programs and services to achieve the priorities of the police service;
- 3.6 preparing annually a budget to be presented to Council outlining the expenses related to the operation of the Committee.
- 3.7 holding meetings quarterly at minimum but as often as is required to carry on the business of the committee.
- 3.8 meeting times are to be posted on the Town website, meetings are to be open to the public and minutes available for viewing.

4.0 MEMBERSHIP

- 4.1 The Policing Committee shall be comprised of not fewer than three (3) members and not more than seven (7) members appointed by Council.
- 4.2 Council shall consider the diversity of the community when appointing members to the Policing Committee.
- 4.3 A member of the Policing Committee shall not be a full-time member of the policing committee.
- 4.4 The term of office of a member appointed to the Policing Committee shall be:
 - 4.4.1 three (3) years, or
 - 4.4.2 a term of less than three (3) years, but not less than two (2) years
- 4.5 All members of the Policing Committee must pass an enhanced security check.
- 4.6 The appointment of a member to the Policing Committee may not be revoked by Council except for cause.
- 4.7 If a person who is also a member of Council is also appointed to the Policing Committee, that person's appointment to the Policing Committee terminates on that person's ceasing to be a member of Council.
- 4.8 The members of the Policing Committee shall at their first meeting in each year, elect from their members a chair and one or more vice-chairs.
- 4.9 A member who is the chief elected official is not eligible to be elected as the chair or vice-chair of the policing committee.
- 4.10 All members of the Policing Committee shall take an oath as set out in Schedule 2 of the Act.
- 4.11 Members of the committee may receive payment of reasonable remuneration or of a gratuity or allowance in accordance with the regulations.
- 4.12 The Mayor and CAO of the Town are ex-officio members of the Policing Committee.

5.0 Ministerial Appointments to the Policing Committee

If the Policing Committee consists of;

- a. Three (3) members, the Minister may appoint one member to the Committee or
- b. Four (4) to six (6) members, the Minister may appoint up to two (2) members to the Committee or
- c. Seven (7) members, the Minister may appoint one (1) member for each group of three (3) members appointed to the Committee, including any remaining group that is fewer than three (3) members

6.0 MISCELLANEOUS

6.1 This bylaw shall come into force upon passing of third and final reading.

READ a FIRST time this 3 rd day of February, 2025, for Policing Committee Bylaw 910-R-02-25.		
Mayor – Jack Van Rijn Motion: 29-2025	CAO – Kalen Hastings	
READ a SECOND time this 3 rd day 25.	of February, 2025, for Policing Committee Bylaw 910-R-02	
Mayor – Jack Van Rijn Motion: 30-2025	CAO – Kalen Hastings	

for Policing Committee Bylaw 910-R	e-02-25.
Mayor – Jack Van Rijn Motion: 31-2025	CAO – Kalen Hastings
READ a THIRD and FINAL time this R-02-25.	3 rd day of February, 2025, for Policing Committee Bylaw 910
Mayor – Jack Van Rijn Motion: 32-2025	CAO – Kalen Hastings